Bill of Rights, 1789

Timeline Image: 

The First Congress sent these 12 proposed amendments to the states for ratification. On December 15, 1791, the necessary three-fourths of the states ratified amendments three through twelve—known today as the Bill of Rights.

General Records of the U.S. Government, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.

Timeline Story: 

Share This Page